Schedule

A Culture of Caring: Connecting Student Learning and Basic Needs

*This schedule is subject to change.

Monday, October 25

9:00-9:35 AM Pacific/Arizona; 10:00-10:35 AM Mountain; 11:00-11:35 AM Central; 12:00-12:35 PM Eastern

Opening Session: The Building Blocks of Students’ Basic Needs                                                              

The basic needs of today’s community college students are an essential component of student success. Students cannot be expected to achieve academic success or personal wellness until their basic needs are met. Food and housing security as well as mental health and overall well-being have significant impacts on students’ academic performance. This prompts institutions to support initiatives and provide resources to address these issues. This keynote presentation will address the barriers that prevent students from accessing support services on campus and in the community; strategies for partnering with community agencies to provide students with the resources they need; and mechanisms to identify and support students who are experiencing distress.

Jennifer Latino, Senior Director, Strategy and Planning, EAB

9:35-9:40 AM Pacific/Arizona; 10:35-10:40 AM Mountain; 11:35-11:40 AM Central; 12:35-12:45 PM Eastern              

Break

9:40-10:55 AM Pacific/Arizona; 10:40-11:55 AM Mountain; 11:40 AM-12:55 PM Central; 12:40-1:55 PM Eastern            

An Empty Plate: Exploring Food Insecurity and Its Impact on #RealCollege Students

In this session, we will examine food insecurity for college students. We will explore the meaning of food insecurity in higher education and disparities among students in relationship to food insecurity, and highlight promising programs and legislation across the U.S. aimed at addressing this problem.

Christine Baker-Smith, Executive Director, The Hope Center for College, Community, and Justice, Temple University

10:55-11:10 AM Pacific/Arizona; 11:55 AM-12:10 PM Mountain; 12:55-1:10 PM Central; 1:55-2:10 Eastern           

Break

11:10-11:50 AM Pacific/Arizona; 12:10-12:50 PM Mountain; 1:10-1:50 PM Central; 2:10-2:50 PM Eastern           

Innovative Approaches to Hunger Relief and Healthy Eating

Carmen Shurtleff, Instructor, Sociology and Social Work, Northeast Texas Community College; Emily Peck, Vice President, Student Services, West Kentucky Community and Technical College

11:50 AM-1:00 PM Pacific/Arizona; 12:50-2:00 PM Mountain; 1:50-3:00 PM Central; 2:50-4:00 PM Eastern       

Team Time

Tuesday, October 26

9:00-10:15 AM Pacific/Arizona; 10:00-11:15 AM Mountain; 11:00 AM-12:15 PM Central; 12:00-1:15 PM Eastern               

There’s No Place Like Home: Exploring Housing Insecurity and Its Impact on #RealCollege Students

In this session, we will explore housing insecurity and homelessness for college students. We will highlight differences in these challenges based on student and institutional characteristics, and highlight promising programs and legislation across the U.S. aimed at addressing this problem.

Christine Baker-Smith, Executive Director, The Hope Center for College, Community, and Justice, Temple University

10:15-10:25 AM Pacific/Arizona; 11:15-11:25 AM Mountain; 12:15-12:25 PM Central; 1:15-1:25 PM Eastern             

Break

10:25-11:05 AM Pacific/Arizona; 11:25 AM-12:05 PM Mountain; 12:25-1:05 PM Central; 1:25-2:05 PM Eastern            

Innovative Approaches to Housing for Community College Students  

Diana Arredondo, Professor of Architecture, Southwestern College; Teresa Leyba Ruiz, President, Glendale Community College

11:05-11:35 AM Pacific/Arizona; 12:05-12:35 PM Mountain; 1:05-1:35 PM Central; 2:05-2:35 PM Eastern             

Team Time

11:35 AM-1:00 PM Pacific/Arizona; 12:35-2:00 PM Mountain; 1:35-3:00 PM Central; 2:35-4:00 PM Eastern          

Community College Student Mental Health: What We Know and What We Can Do

During this session, an overview of the most recent research on community college student mental health will be provided. While most of what is known about college student mental health is situated within the four-year institution context, community college student mental health research is growing steadily. What we know suggests that community college students navigate mental health issues and mental illness at greater rates than students at four-year institutions. At the same time, community college students have access to fewer resources—both on- and off-campus. Their levels of unmet mental health service needs are significant and outpace students at four-year institutions. This creates a tenuous situation for community college students and campuses alike. Yet there are plenty of ways community college personnel can support students who may be struggling with their mental health, and most have not been fully realized. Research-based, creative, and cost-effective approaches, strategies, and tools will be shared for consideration and customization.

Amanda Latz, Associate Professor, Higher Education and Community College Leadership, Ball State University

Wednesday, October 27

9:00-10:15 AM Pacific/Arizona; 10:00-11:15 AM Mountain; 11:00 AM-12:15 PM Central; 12:00-1:15 PM Eastern                 

Community Colleges and the Preparation for Work

Community colleges pride themselves on preparing students for work. However, how does a college develop programs to fit the various student markets it serves? This session will explore these issues in light of three significant changes: (a) new employer demands, (b) skill changes in the workplace, and (c) the growing importance of equity within workforce programs offered by the college. All of these suggest a repurposing of community college credit and noncredit workforce programs, which have significant implications for the future of these institutions. 

James Jacobs, President Emeritus, Macomb Community College, and Research Affiliate, Community College Research Center, Teachers College, Columbia University

10:15-10:25 AM Pacific/Arizona; 11:15-11:25 AM Mountain; 12:15-12:25 PM Central; 1:15-1:25 PM Eastern                

Break

10:25-11:05 AM Pacific/Arizona; 11:25 AM-12:05 PM Mountain; 12:25-1:05 PM Central; 1:25-2:05 PM Eastern

 Innovative Approaches to Unemployment and Financial Insecurity

Irene Robles-Lopez, Vice Chancellor for Student Experience; Suzanne Desjardin, Acting Vice President of Student Affairs; Crispin Jeffrey-Franco, Director, Workforce Development, Pima Community College

11:05-11:45 AM Pacific/Arizona; 12:05-12:45 PM Mountain; 1:05-1:45 PM Central; 2:05-2:45 PM Eastern                

Team Time

11:45 AM-12:15 PM Pacific/Arizona; 12:45-1:15 PM Mountain; 1:45-2:15 PM Central; 2:45-3:15 Eastern          

Closing Session

Devita Davison, Executive Director, FoodLab Detroit